



2024-25 CADR-NCOHR Student Research Award Winners

The CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards are sponsored by the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) and by the Network for Canadian Oral Health Research (NCOHR). In 2024-25, a total of 20 CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards were given out. Eighteen students received travel awards to present their research at the 2025 AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting in New York, NY, USA. Two students received First Place awards and will represent Canada at the 2025 IADR Hatton Competition.

SENIOR BASIC SCIENCE RESEARCH CATEGORY

FIRST PLACE AND HATTON COMPETITOR

Manal Dahdah, Université Laval Supervisor: Abdelhabib Semlali Viroelixir: Antifungal and Anti-Inflammatory Potential Against Candida albicans

Ahmed Eldib, University of Saskatchewan

Supervisor: Walter Siqueira
Unlocking the Phosphoproteome: Advanced Techniques for Low-Abundance Salivary Protein Analysis

Asmaa Fadl, University of Saskatchewan Supervisor: Andrew Leask Hypoxia-Inducible Factor-1α as a Potential Contributor to Gingival Overgrowth

Ibrahim Hoja, Université Laval Supervisor: Petros Papagerakis Role of Circadian Clock in the Development and Function of Salivary Glands

Isra Ibrahim, University of British Columbia

Supervisor: Joy Richman

RhoA GTPase and The Mechanisms Underlying Increased Risk of Cleft Lip

Felix Ma, University of British Columbia Supervisor: Jessica Rosin *CSF1R-expressing macrophages and osteoclasts drive normal craniofacial morphogenesis*

Anastasia Matsko, University of Manitoba Supervisor: Rodrigo Franca Custom-Made Root Analogue Implants: Unifying Fabrication Methods

Jiang Wenhui, University of British Columbia Supervisor: Bingshuang Zou Reinforcement of antibiofilm and remineralizing properties of clear aligner attachment with bioceramic fillers

SENIOR CLINICAL/PRE-CLINICAL RESEARCH CATEGORY

FIRST PLACE AND HATTON COMPETITOR

Meenakshi Pundir, Université Laval Supervisor: Silvana Papagerakis

Novel Aptamer-based Intraoral Biosensor for Real-Time Measurement of Salivary Biomarker

Yanlong Chen, University of British Columbia Supervisor: Fernanda Almeida

Objective Adherence to Oral Appliance Therapy: A One-Year Longitudinal Analysis

Anjali Bhagirath, University of Alberta Supervisor: Khaled Altabtbaei

Bacterial Internalization During Human Experimental Gingivitis: A Quasi-Longitudinal Study

Omnia Elebyary, University of Toronto Supervisor: Michael Glogauer

Periodontitis as a Determinant of Bloodstream Infection Severity and Survival in Allo-HSCT Patients: The

Hidden Risks of Oral Inflammation

Nikita Surani, University of Alberta Supervisor: Maryam Sharifzadeh-Amin

Integrating Oral Health in School Programs: Health Promotion Facilitator's Perspectives

Olubukola Olatosi, University of Manitoba Supervisor: Robert Schroth

Recommendations for Implementing the Canadian CRA Tool in Indigenous Communities

JUNIOR CATEGORY

Supervisor: Eduardo Moffa

Mouaz Abdel-Radi, University of Saskatchewan

Antimicrobial Effect of Histatin-5, GK-17 and INKL Against Oral Pathogens

Diana Lance, University of Saskatchewan Supervisor: Daniela Pita de Melo

Thermography as Tool for Thyroid Nodule Detection: A Scoping Review

Ryan Li, University of British Columbia Supervisor: Renata Grazziotin

Accuracy of a 3D Intraoral Scanner in Endodontics

Promi Paul, University of Saskatchewan Supervisor: Walter Siqueira

Histatin-Enhanced Photodynamic Therapy: Overcoming Resistant Mixed-Biofilms

Roba Ramadan, University of Saskatchewan Supervisor: Michelle Siqueira

Examining Gender Differences in Faculty Promotion Among Canadian Dental Schools

Sarah Son, University of Saskatchewan Supervisor: Leticia Boaro

Evaluation of antibacterial activity and cytotoxicity of composites containing DCPD/CHX-particles

Trainees working in dental and oral health research in Canada applied for the IADR Hatton Divisional Awards and the CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards by submitting a manuscript describing their studies. The competition was judged by a panel of dental researchers from across Canada, based on the criteria applied by the IADR Hatton judging committee.